Enniskillen Integrated Primary School

  1. About Us
  2. Forest School



The curriculum offered in Enniskillen Integrated Primary School encompasses all elements of the Revised Northern Ireland Curriculum and is designed to give a broad and balanced education to all children and to present all children with experiences suitable to their current stages of development.

The revisions to the curriculum aim to retain the best of current practice while seeking to give greater emphasis to important elements, such as children's Personal Development and Mutual Understanding and the explicit development of Thinking Skills and Personal Capabilities.

Teachers have considerable flexibility to make decisions about how best to interpret and combine the requirements so as to prepare young people for a rapidly changing world.

The Primary Phase consists of three Stages:
* The Foundation Stage
* Key Stage 1
* Key Stage 2

The Curriculum for the three stages is set out in six Areas of Learning. Although the Areas of Learning are set out separately, learning is integrated, where appropriate, across the six areas to make relevant connections for children. Teachers have considerable flexibility to select from within the 
learning areas those aspects they consider appropriate to the ability and interests of their pupils.

The Areas of Learning are:

1. Language and Literacy 
(including Talking and Listening, Reading and Writing and additional languages)

2. Mathematics and Numeracy
(focusing on the development of mathematical concepts and numeracy across 
the curriculum)

3. The Arts
(including Art and Design, Drama and Music)

4.The World Around Us
(focusing on the development of knowledge, skills and understanding in Geography, History and Science and Technology)

5. Personal Development and Mutual Understanding
(focusing on emotional development, social skills, learning to learn, health, relationships and sexuality education and mutual understanding in the local and global community)

6. Physical Education
(focusing on the development of knowledge, skills and understanding through play and a range of physical activities)

Religious Education
EIPS have also chosen to include Religious Education as an Area of 

At the heart of the curriculum lies an explicit emphasis on the development of skills and capabilities for lifelong learning and for operating effectively in society. Through opportunities to engage in active learning contexts across all areas of the curriculum, children should progressively develop:

Cross-Curricular Skills:
* Communication
* Using Mathematics
* Using Information and Communications Technology

Thinking SKills and Personal Capabilities:
* Thinking, Problem-Solving and Decision-Making
* Self Management
* Working with Others
* Managing Information
* Being Creative


The parents of every primary school pupil in Northern Ireland will receive an Annual Pupil Profile Report before the end of each school year. This replaces the traditional annual school report.

If you wish to find out more about the Revised Northern Ireland Curriculum go to: